Released: October 23, 2007

Five CDMRP Funded Scientists Elected to Institute of Medicine

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences has elected as members five Department of Defense Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP) investigators and a founding Breast Cancer Research Program (BCRP) Integration Panel member.

The IOM was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to honor professional achievement in the health sciences and to serve as a national resource for independent analysis and recommendations on issues related to medicine, biomedical sciences, and health.

"Members are elected through a highly selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. Election is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health," said Harvey V. Fineberg, President of the IOM. Current active IOM members elect new members from a slate of candidates nominated for their professional achievement and commitment to service.

The CDMRP scientists newly elected to the Institute of Medicine are:

Kathryn Calame, Ph.D., Professor, Departments of Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Molecular Biophysics, Columbia University, New York City. Dr. Calame was funded with a CDMRP Breast Cancer Investigator Initiated Award (BC930732).

Andrew P. Feinberg, M.D., M.P.H., King Fahd Professor of Medicine, Molecular Biology and Genetics, and Oncology, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore. Dr. Feinberg has received three awards from the Breast Cancer Research Program: an Investigator Initiated Award (BC931643), an Idea award (BC980596), and a Concept Award (BC023578).

Patricia A. Ganz, M.D., Professor of Health Services, School of Public Health; Professor of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine; and Director, Cancer prevention and Control Research, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. Ganz also received an Investigator Initiated Award (BC93118) and also an Idea Award (BC971374) from the Breast Cancer Research Program.

William G. Kaelin Jr., M.D., Professor, Harvard Medical School, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston. Dr. Kaelin has contributed to the Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Program having received an Idea Development Award (TS030008).

Luis F. Parada, Ph.D., Professor and Diana K. and Richard C. Strauss Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology, Department of Developmental Biology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas. Dr. Parada has contributed to the Neurofibromatosis Research Program having received an Investigator Initiated Award (NF960044).

One newly elected IOM member is a founding Breast Cancer Research Program Integration Panel member:

Kay Dickersin, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Epidemiology, and Director, Center for Clinical Trials, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore. Dr. Dickersin was a founding member of the Breast Cancer Research Program Integration Panel 1993-1995 and has been a frequent speaker at Era of Hope Meetings.

"The CDMRP seeks to find and fund innovative, dedicated researchers. It is very gratifying to see that early funding has assisted the research careers of these esteemed new members of the Institute of Medicine. CDMRP sends our congratulations to our newly elected Institute of Medicine members and look forward to their continuing achievements in research," responded Colonel Janet R. Harris, PhD, Director, the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs upon hearing the news.

Point of Contact:
Gail Whitehead, Public Affairs Coordinator, CDMRP, 301-619-7783